Our Speakers

Program Director

Christopher M. O’Connor, MD, MACC, FESC, FHFSA, FHFA
President, Inova Heart and Vascular Institute
Professor of Medicine Duke University
Editor in Chief, JACC: Heart Failure
Past President, Heart Failure Society of America

Program Co-Chairs and Planning Committee

Brett Atwater, MD
Director of Electrophysiology Research,
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Wayne Batchelor, MD, MHS, FACC, FSCAI
Director of the Interventional Heart Program,
Inova Health System
Director of Interventional Heart Disease Research,
Education, and Innovation
Associate Director
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Mona Fiuzat, PharmD, FACC, FHFSA, FHFA
Former Sr. Scientific Advisor to FDA Commissioner
Associate Professor of Medicine
Duke University School of Medicine

Carolyn Rosner, MSN, NP-C, MBA
Nurse Practitioner,
Director of Innovative Programs,
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Program Faculty:

William T. Abraham, MD, FACC, FAHA, FESC
Professor of Medicine, Physiology, and Cell Biology
Associate Dean for Clinical Research
Director, Clinical Trials Management Office
Deputy Director, Davis Heart and Lung
Research Institute
The Ohio State University

Olujimi Ajijola, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Neurocardiology Research Program
Co-Director of UCLA-Caltech MSTP
UCLA Cardiac Arrhythmia Center

Aysha Arshad, MD, FACC, FHRS, FAHA
Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiologist, Inova Fairfax Hospital
Director, EP Lead Extraction
Co-Director, Hybrid AF Ablation, Carient

Christopher DeFilippi, MD, FACC
Vice Chairman of Academic Affairs
Director of Cardiology Fellowship Program
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Shashank Desai, MD
Medical Director of Heart Failure and Transplant Program
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Nasrien Ibrahim, MD, FACC
Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiologist
Director of HF Research
Associate Director of CV Fellowship
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Spencer B. King, III, MD, MACC
Professor of Medicine Emeritus
Emory University
School of Medicine,
Former Editor-in-Chief of JACC – Cardiovascular Interventions

Vineet Kumar, MD, FHRS
Medical Director of EP Research
Inova Fairfax Medical Campus

JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD, FACC, FHFSA
Director, Advanced Heart Failure / Cardiac Transplantation
Professor of Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Darren K. McGuire, MD, MHSc, FACC
Professor of Internal Medicine
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Cardiology Clinics Lead Physician, Parkland Health and Hospital System
Dallas, Texas
Deputy Editor, Circulation

Hala Moukhachen, MD, FCCP
Medical Director MCCS, CICU
Attending Physician, Medical Critical Care Services (MCCS)
Assistant Professor, University Of Virginia
Inova Fairfax Medical Campus

Mitchell Psotka, MD, PhD, FACC
Section Chief, Heart Failure and Transplant
Inova Fairfax Medical Campus
Director, Infiltrative Cardiomyopathy Center

Haroon Rashid, MD, FACC
Medical Director of Atrial Fibrillation Ablation and Research
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Marc Sabatine, MD, MPH, FACC
Chair, Thrombolysis in Myocardial Infarction (TIMI) Study Group
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Eric Sarin, MD, FACC
Co-Director, Structural Heart and Valve Center
Co-Director, Cardiovascular Research
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Palak Shah, MD, MS, FACC, FHFSA
Medical Director, Mechanical Circulatory Support
Director, Cardiovascular Genomics Center
Heart Failure, Mechanical Circulatory Support and Transplant
Associate Professor of Medicine, George Washington University
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Garima Sharma, MD
Director of Cardio-Obstetrics, Associate Vice Chair, DOM
Associate Director of Prevention Education
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology

Matthew Sherwood, MD, MHS, FACC
Physician Supervisor, Interventional Cardiology and Structural Heart Disease
Director, LAAC/WATCHMAN Program
Co-Director, Structural Heart Disease Program
Co-Director, Cardiac Catheterization Lab
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Scott Solomon, MD
The Edward D. Frohlich Distinguished Chair
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Director, Noninvasive Cardiology
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Hamid Taheri, MD, FACC, FSCAI
Interventional Cardiologist
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute
Director of Emerging Markets Ambulatory Cardiovascular Clinical Research, Carient

Behnam Tehrani, MD, FACC, FSCAI
Director, Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories,
Inova Fairfax Medical Campus
Co-Director, Cardiogenic Shock Program,
Co-Director, Transcatheter Pulmonary Vascular Therapeutics Program,
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Alexander G. Truesdell, MD, FACC, FSCAI
Interventional Cardiologist, Cardiac Intensive Care Unit
Virginia Heart and Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Marc Wish, MD, FACC
Medical Director of Cardiac Electrophysiology and Pacing Laboratories
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute

Emily P. Zeitler, MD, MHS, FACC
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Assistant Professor Health Care Policy, The Dartmouth Institute
Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiologist, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center


Add this event to your calendar!

Add to Calendar


Share on Social Media! #InovaCV2022

Join us on Twitter


Be the first to hear the latest info for this event!

Join our Email List

Cherry Blossom

Cardiovascular Symposium